Changing Divorce Lawyers…Is That Allowed?

by Robin Roshkind, Esquire, West Palm Beach, Florida

In a word, yes… right in the middle of a case, too.  If you are not happy with your divorce lawyer, divorce him or her!   Just like you are getting rid of your spouse, you can get rid of your divorce lawyer.  Especially if he/she is not returning telephone calls.   Yes, that is the main complaint that The Florida Bar gets from divorce clients: that their divorce attorneys do not return phone calls.

While I admit I get really busy during the day, and  the pressure is on to timely file pleadings, disclosure documents and comply with other deadlines the Florida Family Law Rules require, I always return phone calls, even if it is after 7 pm.  It’s hard to do, but it’s the right thing to do.  Divorcing clients are in distress.  There are often emergencies that are highly emotionally charged and even frightening.  Sometimes I think I am a shrink, but in any case, I always return phone calls timely.

I also communicate with my clients via email.  As any of my friends will tell you, I carry my iphone around to a fault.  My client emails are as close as my handbag. 

Some clients are high maintenance and need advice every step of the way.  But that is what I get paid for, my time and my expertise.  So if you have questions about divorce in Palm Beach County, give me a call at 561 835 9091 or click on the Firm’s web site at http://www.familylawwpb.com.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

