How Do I Get Sole Decision Making Of My Kids?

By Robin Roshkind, Esquire, West Palm Beach, Florida

In Palm Beach County divorce court, there is a presumption that both parents have equal rights to their children.  That means that unless and until a parent is proven to be incapable, both parents have equal say in major decisions regarding the upbringing of their kids.

This is called in legalese “shared parental responsibility”.  There is even a Florida statute about it.   But in many cases I see in my family law practice, shared parental decision making is not in the best interests of the children.

Where this is the case, I take the matter to court.  The job of the judge is to protect children.  If one parent is a far superior parent, and I can prove it is in the best interests of the children for the court to order SOLE PARENTAL RESPONSIBILITY, then I go for it.

For more information about this or other divorce topics, call one of the divorce lawyers at ROBIN ROSHKIND, P.A. at 561 835 9091 or click on the Firm’s web site at http://www.familylawwpb.com.

One thought on “How Do I Get Sole Decision Making Of My Kids?

Leave a Reply

