Why Divorce Lawyers Work At Hourly Rates

By Robin Roshkind, Esquire, West Palm Beach, Florida

I often get the question, “How much will my divorce cost”.  While I can give estimates based upon my experience and the facts of the marriage, I cannot talk with specificity.  That is because I work  hourly and charge hourly.  It is very difficult to predict with certainty how cooperative or uncooperative and opposing attorney or opposing client will be.

Oftentimes, if the other side needs compelling to perform per the rules of court, I ask to be awarded fees from that side for my efforts to get what I am entitled to in the first place.   On another note, when lawyers and clients attend the court required mediation to settle a divorce, we just don’t know how long that is going to take.  It could be one half hour and no agreement is reached or it could be 5 hours to reach a settlement.

So when you are looking to retain the services of a divorce lawyer, be careful what you pay for.  If a lawyer is willing to do a flat fee, be suspicious unless it is a divorce with little or no assets, debts or children.  For more information, call one of the divorce lawyers at ROBIN ROSHKIND, P.A. at 561 835 9091 or click on the Firm’s web site at www.familylawwpb.com for more information.

Leave a Reply

