Can One Lawyer Represent Both Husband and Wife?

By Robin Roshkind, Esquire, West Palm Beach, Florida

I often get the question from a divorcing client as to whether I can represent both parties in a divorce settlement.  While intuitively this may make some economical sense when the parties agree to everything, the Rules Regulating the Florida Bar do not allow one divorce lawyer to represent the best interests of both parties, because the husband and wife are potentially adversarial.  What may be in the best interests of one party may be a detriment to the other.  As a lawyer and officer of the court, I would have what is called a conflict of interest.

That is not to say that I haven’t done the documents for both parties.  I do and I can draft marital settlement agreements for both parties to sign.  I can also give the other party the financial affidavit forms and other forms necessary to get the divorce done.  However, I can only give legal advice to the spouse who is my client.

If you are planning on getting a divorce in Palm Beach County, Florida, and want more information, call one of the divorce lawyers at ROBIN ROSHKIND, P.A. at 561-835-9091 or click on the Firm’s web site at www.familylawwpb.com.

Leave a Reply

