Staying together for the sake of the kids…is it worth it?

By Robin Roshkind, Esquire, West Palm Beach, Florida

Back in the fifties and sixties, divorce was not as prevalent as it is today.  Divorce laws were tougher and it was mostly the domain of celebrities.  However, many couples raising baby boomers wanted to stay together for the sake of the children in order to remain respectful in the community and to maintain an in tact family.

Psychologists and “having a shrink” became vogue in the late seventies and eighties, and since then, dramatically changed their opinions about divorce and domestic violence, as the women’s movement took hold.

Today, if you ask therapists about staying together merely for the sake of the children, most would generally advise not to do that.  The reason:  in a home where a divorce should occur, staying together creates an unhealthy environment in which to raise children.  There are several reasons:

The children learn abuse, verbal and  physical.  They learn disrespect, not love.  They see fighting and arguing among adults.  They blame themselves for their parents’ malfunctions.  They act out in school.  They develop problems interacting with others.  The list can go on and on.

If you are in a situation that requires a divorce but you are not sure what to do, consult with a marriage counselor.  Then see a divorce lawyer to protect  your rights.  For more information about this or other divorce topics, call one of the attorneys at ROBIN ROSHKIND, P.A. at 561-835-9091 or click on the Firm’s web site at www.familylawwpb.com.

One thought on “Staying together for the sake of the kids…is it worth it?

  1. I can say from my own experiences that I actually begged my parents to take a divorce when I was 15 becaue I couldn’t stand their bickering anymore. They didn’t because of comfort I think and the fact that once I realized that them divorcing meant having to deal with their future girlfriends and boyfriends I took it back.

    Now, more than 10 years later I can say that it still effects me. it’s effected me in so many ways and it’s the quickest way to get me down. As for me having to deal with their future girlfriends and boyfriends… I have to deal with them anyway, just hidden because we all know that neither of them are loyal.

    So please, please… don’t stay together because of your child.

Leave a Reply

